Skip to content

A Prayer for Those Who Are Retiring – May 24, 2010

May 24, 2010

Dear Family and Friends,

Please take a moment to pray with us.

Father,

The school year is drawing to a close and many people that I have known for much of my career are retiring.  It is a time to celebrate with them, but it also brings up loss, the loss of their presence, their friendship, their experience.  I know that this is inevitable, but I don’t have to like it.

A Prayer for Those Who Are Retiring

Mother God,
Father God,
The retirement of friends
has been a challenge to accept.
Careers end,
The people move on
To take a well-deserved rest.
Their place are filled
by the next young person in line.
It seems that there hasn’t been enough time
For them to soak in the appreciation
That others feel for their contributions
To the schools, the staffs, and the students
Underneath these observations
Lies the personal question,
“What will it be like when I retire?”
“Will I feel appreciated?”
“Will I want to ‘slip away in the night’
And avoid the celebration?
“Will I revel in the closing of one chapter
of life, and run to start the next chapter?”
“Will I learn to take more time for You
in my day, or will I fill up my day
With trivial matters?”
“Will I waste time,
Or use it wisely?”
I place the needs of those who are retiring
At Your feet, Lord,
As well as my own questions
about the unknown future.
In Jesus’ name.
Amen.

Peace,

Tom

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

