Skip to content

A Prayer for Guidance on Retirement – July 27, 2010

July 27, 2010

Dear Family and Friends,

Please take a moment to pray with us.

Father,

I have experienced a restlessness inside me, wondering what path to take.  This has increased with my possible retirement in one year.  I have a tele-conference tomorrow regarding retirement income and the dreaded costs of health insurance.  I have been worrying about this, trying to figure out how to maintain our current standard of living, but my sense is that our family income will take a substantial hit.  I can consider continuing to work, but I wonder if You intend for me to end a large chapter of my life in working in my present school district, and begin a new chapter, working in some different capacity.  This state of uneasiness, I know, can be such that it makes one uncomfortable enough to make a change.  Is that what You want me to do?  There are too many questions that have to do with money, which is different than some previous year when all I did was know that I had to go to work, and just put my head down, and did it.  Lead me.

A Prayer for Guidance on Retirement
Mother God,
Father God,
I am confused about which path
to take at this point in my life.
Part of me is weary
After working in the same place
For thirty-five years.
Another part of me is afraid
That by leaving a job,
I might put my family
In a difficult financial position.
I recall Jesus saying
“Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”
“See how the lilies of the field grow.”
Then I feel that I am ruled too much by fear,
And too little by faith. 
Help give me wisdom to make this decision.
Lead me and guide me in the path that You will.
Let me feel at peace,
Knowing that You are in control.
In Jesus’ name.
Amen.

Peace,

Tom

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 11:16 PM

    I prayed about this as well. God Bless…

  2. February 8, 2012 4:59 AM

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

